MISSON

MISSON COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 20th March 2019 at 7.00pm

Committee Members present:

David Hobson; Lizzy Clifton; Spencer Robey; Jan Robey; Reg Threlkeld: Wendy Threlkeld; Ben Ryland

Others present:

Andrea Wilcox; Jayne Watson; Mandy Walker; Joan Challoner; Liz Rowe; Mick Rowe; Sue Howard; Brenda Lindley; Pat Swift; Amanda Hannigan; Ann Beacham; Ian Cotterhill; Naomi Naidu; Janis James

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Mark Watson

2. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING OF 21ST FEBRUARY 2018 (previously circulated by email) AND ANY MATTERS ARISING FROM MINUTES

The Minutes of the last meeting were approved and signed. There were no matters arising.

3. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORT

David Hobson gave a warm welcome to everyone present. He presented his report and showed a very entertaining slideshow of the various events from last year. He said he was not going to thank individuals but wanted to thank the Committee and others not on the Committee, who help regularly. The full report can be found on our website www.missoncommunityassoc.org.uk

4. TREASURER'S REPORT

The Accounts for the year ended 31st December 2018 had been duly signed by Steven Darby, showing a healthy balance. Spencer Robey said that although a lot had been spent on redecoration and fittings, savings from installing new led lighting were already being seen.

Works still needs to be done on the building with the possibility of a new oil tank re insurance possible £2000.

It was agreed to formally adopt the accounts. The 2017 Income and expenditure account can be found on our website www.missoncommunityassoc.org.uk

Pat Swift of Darby's was proposed by Spencer Robey and elected as examiner of the accounts once again. Thanks went to Pat.

5. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND HONORARY OFFICERS

Currently we have 8 Committee Members. As per the constitution 4 members of the committee needed to stand down. David H was one of these and due to other commitments, not able to stand again.

Jan R and Ben R stood down but were willing to stand for re-election. Reg T stood down and did not wish to be on the Committee, but willing to continue with maintenance.

Jan Robey - Proposed by David Hobson seconded by Lizzy C and Sue Howard

Ben Ryland - Proposed by David Hobson seconded by Spencer R

It was explained that the Constitution allows for 10 or 11 Committee Members. This was opened up to everyone.

Spencer Robey nominated Mandy Walker. This was seconded by Reg T. David Hobson nominated Sue Howard. Seconded by Spencer R David Hobson nominated Ian Cotterhill. Seconded by Spencer R David Hobson nominated Ann Beacham. Seconded by Spencer R

As there was a vacancy for Chairperson, Spencer R asked Mandy W if she would be willing to stand. She agreed and was duly voted Chairperson.

There was a vacancy for Vice-Chairperson. This was to be discussed at the next meeting.

It was agreed that the current bank mandate would need to be changed in accordance with the above. David Hobson to be removed and Amanda Walker to be added.

Action: Spencer R to arrange to get mandate changed

6. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Discussion ensued re possible events/actions for the coming year. An event at Easter was muted - 'Easter Bunnies' as was a village pantomime at Christmas.

A request was made concerning the sound in the hall, in that the acoustics were such that some people found it hard to hear what was being said. It was agreed that this would be investigated.

Other suggestions were:
Dog Show
Walk along the river
Mud Pie Arts
Drama Workshop
Village in Bloom
Open Gardens

It was pointed out that it was not always the Committee's job to stage events but would always assist if needed.

Date of Next AGM - 19th February 2020 Date of next meeting - 17th April 2019

Meeting closed at 8.40pm