

Local Government for Langton Green, Speldhurst, Ashurst and Old Groombridge

## **AIR TRAFFIC COMMITTEE**

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

- 1. The Committee will appoint a Chair at the first meeting following the Annual Meeting of the Council in May each year.
- 2. In the event of the Chair's absence the members of the committee present will appoint a Chair at the beginning of the meeting who must be a Councillor.
- 3. The purpose of the Committee is to act on behalf of the Council as a channel for communicating the views and concerns of the residents of the Speldhurst Parish to Borough, County, and Central Government levels, in connection with air traffic.
- 4. The Committee will consist of a minimum of three Councillors.
- 5. Members of the public (without voting rights) can be appointed to the Committee.
- 6. A Clerk will set up the meeting, liaise with the Chair to create an agenda and write the minutes based on notes made by the Chair in the event of the Clerk not attending the meeting.
- 7. A quorum of 3 Councillors is required for each meeting.
- 8. Meetings will be convened as required.
- 9. Draft minutes will be submitted to Council members.
- 10. The Committee will draft reasonable and factual submissions and responses to public consultations, where relevant in liaison with other local councils, and may have them reviewed by SPC Councillors and, if agreed, signed by the SPC Chair.
- 11. The Committee will submit an executive summary of the main points of all documents that it would like the SPC Chair to sign prior to a Full Council meeting.
- 12. Our Member of Parliament will be kept informed and his/her help solicited where necessary.
- 13. These Terms of Reference will be reviewed annually.