Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

Broomfield Bowls Club

Competition Success 2017

Competitions and Honours

The biggest Club success this year was achieved by the Men’s Vets section. We won both the League and the League Cup. Our thanks go to Andy Coombe and Chris Shallcross for their stewardship.

Terri Watkinson was in the 2 Wood singles.
Jane Preston was in the Mixed Pairs.

Kevin Ward, Howard Warburton, Pat Ryan, Tom Lawford, with Kenny Allen as sub, were finalists in the Over 60’s fours.
Terri Watkinson was a 2 Wood Semi Finalist

London and Southern Counties
Roger Watkinson was Singles Finalist.

North London & District Women’s Bowling Association
Margaret Land, Janet Walby, Margaret Phillips and Terri Watkinson were finalist in the Fours.

Ladies Brigg League
Finished 3rd with same points a second place but minus 1 shot.

David McLeod and Andrew Bennett  were Mens Pairs Winners
Jane Preston was Ladies Singles Winner
Chris Shalcross, Dave Bignell, Roger Watkinson and Andrew Bennett were finalists in the Men’s Fours.

Wood Green Hospitals
Chris Ryan, Pat Ryan, Roger Watkinson and Terri Watkinson were the Mixed Fours Winners.
David McLeod, Howard Warburton, Andrew Bennett, with Dave Bignell as sub, were Triples Finalists.
Jane Preston and Terri Watkinson were Ladies Pairs Finalists.

Lea Valley Finals
Howard Warburton and Tony Bracaliello were the Men’s Pairs Winners.
Terri Watkinson and Andy Coombe were Mixed Pairs Finalists

Finchley Finals
Chris Shallcross, Howard Warburton and Andrew Bennett were Triples Winners.
Howard Warburton and Tony Bracaliello were Pairs Winners.

Middleton Cup
Kevin Ward and Roger Watkinson

John’s Trophy
Geri Bignell, Jane Preston and Terri Watkinson.

Home Counties
Tony Bracaliello, Colin Pink, Pat Ryan, Geoff Salter, Howard Warburton, Kevin Ward and Roger

We played 9 friendlies and won 6 of them. Additionally we had 3 further games in which our opponents cancelled.

Other Matters

At the AGM Pat Ryan announced his resignation as Chairman and Match Secretary of the Bowls Section. We thank him for his many years of much valued Leadership. He has now passed the gavel on to Bryan Phillips.

Our club Captain this year is Andrew Bennett.
Our Vice Captain is Keith Mait.
Our Chairman is Bryan Phillips
Our Match secretary is David McLeod
Our  Club Treasurer and Secretary is Alan Dilley