Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

CPRE Nottinghamshire,



This is the latest position on devolution in Nottinghamshire, according to Nottinghamshire County Council.

Council Leaders continue to push for joint body for North Midlands economic growth

The leaders of 13 Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire councils have confirmed their commitment to the creation of a new joint-body covering the North Midlands, with the ultimate aim of shifting resources and decision-making over local issues away from London and into the hands of local people.

At a meeting in Mansfield last week, the leaders agreed to work towards creating a North Midlands Combined Authority as a first step, with the goal still to secure a devolution deal in the future.

All the leaders who signalled that they wanted to create a North Midlands Combined Authority vowed to keep working towards a common ambition of getting the best deal for residents and businesses.

The 13 authorities committed to moving forward with the creation of a North Midlands Combined Authority, and ultimately a devolution deal are:

  • Ashfield District Council
  • Bolsover District Council
  • Broxtowe Borough Council
  • Derby City Council
  • Derbyshire County Council
  • Derbyshire Dales District Council
  • Gedling Borough Council
  • Mansfield District Council
  • Newark and Sherwood District Council
  • North East Derbyshire District Council
  • Nottingham City Council
  • Nottinghamshire County Council
  • Rushcliffe Borough Council.

It was agreed at the meeting that the 13 authorities will now explore options with the Government about moving forward, including the creation of a non-mayoral North Midlands Combined Authority.

The options coming out of discussions with Government will be reported back to the next meetings of the N2 (Nottingham and Nottinghamshire) Economic Prosperity Committee on 18 March and the D2 (Derby and Derbyshire) Strategic Leaders meeting, on a date to be confirmed.

Out of the 19 Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire local authorities involved in discussions over a North Midlands devolution deal from the outset, four have indicated that they currently do not want to be a constituent or non-constituent member of a mayoral North Midlands Combined Authority: High Peak Borough Council, South Derbyshire District Council, Amber Valley Borough Council and Erewash Borough Council.

Chesterfield Borough Council has decided that it would like to be part of a non-constituent member of a North Midlands Combined Authority and join Sheffield City Region as a constituent member. Bassetlaw District Council is set to confirm its position in the coming weeks. Discussions will continue with all 19 Councils in the region.

What could the Devolution Deal deliver for the North Midlands?

  • 55,000 new jobs by 2023
  • Improved quality and quantity of homes across Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire – delivering 77,000 affordable new homes
  • Better connected towns and cities through the creation of combined transport authorities covering Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire
  • Improved frequency, integration and joint ticketing arrangements on public transport through London-style powers, as well as directly influencing improvements to motorways and major trunk roads in the area
  • Increased potential for East Midlands Airport, the second busiest freight terminal in the country after Heathrow, to increase international trade and passenger transport
  • More and better quality apprenticeships, tackling the root causes of long-term unemployment, and further reduce rates of young people not in education or employment
  • Greater control over further education to ensure all local learners and employers have access to the right, high-quality further education offer, matching the skills of citizens with those demanded by the employer.
  • Speeded up planning process and making it more flexible to respond to the different needs of the local areas
  • A smart infrastructure that future-proofs growth and prosperity with universal access to 4G and beyond, removing the digital divide facing those in vulnerable and rural communities.