Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

Milton Park Bowling Association





Milton Park Bowling Association


Minutes of EGM held on Sunday, 24.04.16



Opening Remarks

President Marianne welcomed the 40 members present, also saying how pleased she was so many were present and confirmed the meeting was quorate. She then went through the fire procedures.



Marianne asked for a minute’s silence to remember, in particular, Alan Hale (Priory) who had passed away since the last inquorate AGM.



Received from: Annie Biggs, Mandy Orchard, Marion Wilcockson, Reid Wilcockson, Jemima Meaden, Roland Bloy, Dave Watkins, Elaine Lister.


Election of Committee 2016-2017


The secretary informed the meeting that, for each position, there was only one nomination.


Secretary:         Min Wright          Proposed: Bryan Seymour Seconded: Dave Nicol

Treasurer:         Annie Biggs         Proposed: Bryan Seymour Seconded: Dave Nicol

Green Manager:     Den Patrick         Proposed: Arthur Newland Seconded: Alec Gall 

Pavilion Supervisor: Wally Somerset     Proposed: Roger Wood Seconded: Peter Norton


Accounts Examiner: Trevor Moore     Proposed: Bryan Seymour   Seconded: Dave Nicol


All the above were duly elected.


The secretary mentioned this would be the last year that Annie Biggs would be standing as treasurer therefore a new treasurer would be required for next year.


Acceptance of Accounts 




Accounts were presented on behalf of Annie.


Members were given the opportunity to ask questions - there were none. 


Accounts were unanimously accepted Proposed: Roger Wood

                                                                Seconded: Julie Greenwood.



Secretary’s Annual Report (Committee Report)


Secretary’s Annual Report was tabled.


Members were given the opportunity to ask questions - there were none. 










To accept the following proposition:

‘Membership and Green Fees will be set at the discretion of the committee’


Presented by Bryan Seymour


Bryan informed the meeting that out of 146 members, 101 did not turn up for the AGM or give their apologies. He went on to say that to enable the Association to move forward the committee, which was made up of elected members plus two representatives elected by each club, needed to be in a position to make all financial decisions. The practice of membership voting on the committees’ proposal to increase membership / green fees meant that this year the association will lose in the region of £700 as the AGM was inquorate.


A discussion followed with varying points of view being put forward; eventually the following suggestion was voted on and unanimously agreed that the committee meeting at the end of the season propose membership / green fees for the following season in order that this can be discussed by members at their respective AGMs.  The club representatives will then report club’s views to the committee for consideration at their January? meeting when a final decision is made and communicated to members at the Association AGM.


Closure of Meeting


Meeting closed at 10.50am




                                        Min Wright 24.04.16