Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

Smarden Parish Council

Your Councillors


Mark Wilson

Chairman.  Burial Ground, overhanging trees, hedges and ditches


01233 770528

Brian Bristow

Rivers and Flooding, Headcorn Airfield liaison and Highways


01233 770564

Jocelyn Craig

Vice-Chairman.  Chairs Post Office Working Group; plus Lorry Watch, Speedwatch, Good Neighbour Scheme and Emergency Plan


01233 770854

Sarah Ellison



01580 754004

Marion Hudson

Ashenden Local Needs Housing Scheme


01233 770345


John Lowings

 Local Needs Housing and Post Office Working Group


01233 668875

07591 161308

Jo Morton

Tidy Village 


01233 770446

Clifford Ridley

Rivers and Flooding, Minnis and Cornes Meadow


01233 770574

Peter Watts

Minnis and Cornes Meadow including Playground Health and Safety


01233 770122

Our Clerk is Catherine Stanley smardenclerk@gmail.com  or 07752 395412

Our Ashford Borough Councillor is Geraldine Dyer.  Geraldine's monthly surgeries are normally held on the first Tuesday of each month:

Egerton Millennium Hall from 10.00 - 11.00 a.m.

Smarden Charter Hall from 11.30 a.m. - 12.30 p.m.

You are welcome to drop in to meet Geraldine. Contact her via Geraldine.dyer@ashford.gov.uk or 01233 770213

Our Kent County Councillor is Charlie Simkins. Contact him via Charlie.simkins@kent.gov.uk or 03000 411009

Both our Borough Councillor and our County Councillor offer grant funding opportunities for local projects as well as help and advice on local issues and services relating to their Councils

Our M.P. is Damian Green.  Contact him via https://www.damiangreen.co.uk/contact

Parish Council elections are held every 4 years (the next will be in May 2019).  If you might be interested in standing for election and want to find out more you may wish to attend a monthly meeting to see how they are conducted. 

The Parish Council is a member of: 

Kent Association of Parish Councils http://www.kentalc.gov.uk/

Action for Communities in Rural Kent http://www.ruralkent.org.uk/

Weald of Kent Protection Society http://wkps.org.uk/