Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

Whittlesey Manor Bowls Club

Club History

The club was officially established in 1962, a year after the bowling green at the town's Manor Field (now known as the Manor Leisure Centre) was opened.

One of the town's most distinguished dignatories, Ald. Tom Anthony, was the first president and continued in that role for some 27 years.

An equipment shed close to the green was used as changing rooms for the club until 1981 when the club funded and constructed a brick-built clubhouse.

This was extended in 2001 to incorporate a new bar and fully-fitted kichen, once again funded by the club with the aid of a £20,000 grant from the then English Bowling Association.

As a result, the club boasts some of the best bowling facilities in the region and are used regularly to host regional and county finals and county matches.

On a national basis, the club are affiliated to Bowls England, the English Bowling Federation and the English Women's Bowling Federation, and at county level they are affiliated to Huntingdonshire Bowls, the Northants Bowling Federation and the Northants Women's Bowling Federation.

The club are also members of the Peterborough & District League and have three teams in the Midweek League, one in the Weekend League and another in the Club 60 League.

Some notable milestones

* Rita Mace was national president of the English Women's Bowling Federation in 2000.

* Pat Reynolds played for England between 2006 and 2010.

* Hannah Overton represented the England junior team between 2006 and 2008.

* The rink of Emma Thurston, Mary Malton, Wendy Lutkin and Pat Reynolds won the English women's fours title at Leamington in 2003 and the British title in Jersey the following year.

* The club reached the final of the Durham Centenary Trophy - the English Bowling Federation's club championship - in 2012 and were the first club from the Northants Bowling Federation to achieve that distinction.

* Hannah Overton and Michelle Barlow were national pairs runners-up in 2011.

* Wendy Lutkin has 31 county titles, three national titles and one British title to her credit since 1987. She won four Northants Women's Bowling Federation titles in one season in 2007.

* The club's women have achieved six English Women's Bowling Federation titles, while the men have accrued three.

* The club's women qualified for the final stages of the national finals of the English Women's Top Club competition in 2008.

* Several members of the club were in the Northants Bowling Federation team that won the English Bowling Federation's inter-county title (Adams Trophy) for the first time in 2015.

* Rita & Tony Mace were respective presidents of Northants Women's Bowling Federation and Northants Bowling Federation in 2017 - the same year as they celebrated their Golden Wedding.