HONORARY CITIZEN CRITERIA review 2019-2023

The Town Council has in the past welcomed public nominations at the beginning of each Town Council 4-year term to consider Honorary Citizen awards. The last 4-year term began in 2015, the Council circulated the criteria and invited nominations through the Swaffham Newsletter. There were nominations received, but the Council at that time decided not to make an award.

A recent enquiry has raised the issue of whether the current Council are going to invite nominations, as they had someone in mind. If the Council could review the current criteria and decide whether they wish to invite nominations for an Honorary Citizen Award.

The current protocol for electing an Honorary Citizen is as follows: -

1) From the nominations only one Honorary Citizen will normally be awarded in a 4-year term (a maximum of **2** in exceptional circumstances).

2) The nominee should be resident in Swaffham for 25 years or more.

3) A range of significant contributions to the wellbeing of the town.

4) No more than 1 presentation evening for the 4-year term in conjunction with the Civic Service or the Mayor's Reception.

5) Minimum of 75% of Full Council must agree to the proposed Honorary Citizen and 9 Councillors must be present at that meeting.

6) Nominees from Swaffham electors as well as Councillors, but the final decision will be made by the Council.

The Past Honorary Citizens are as follows: -

Lieutenant Colonel Saul Harris – August 2000

Colonel John Boag – 27th September 2001

Suffolk & Norfolk Yeomanry – 30th September 2001

Former Mayor Jack Boddy 23rd December 2003

Former Town Councillor Toni Groom 29th September 2002

Former Mayor Pam Buxton 18th April 2008

II (AC) Squadron – RAF Marham 14th September 2011