3.1 SCORING (the role of No. 2) FAQ

The bowl is resting at the edge of the rink is it a
dead bowl?

The bowl is only declared dead if it is completely outside of the
rink line.

The bowl is resting only halfway up the rink - is
it a dead bowl?

17.1.3 after completing its original course or after being moved as
a result of play, it comes to rest at a distance of less than 14
metres, as measured in a straight line, from the centre of the mat
line to the nearest point of the bowl

Who decides if a bowl is dead?

17.3 The skips or opponents in Singles must decide whether a bow!
is dead or not as soon as they realise it is necessary. (If the players
do not realise that a decision is necessary as soon as the bow/
comes to rest, the decision can still be made even if a number of
bowls have been played after the bowl in question came to rest.) If
they cannot reach agreement, they must ask the umpire to make a
decision.

When should dead woods be removed?

17.4 A dead bow! must be removed from the rink of play as soon as
it has been declared dead

When do | chalk a wood that has just hit the
jack during delivery?

You should chalk the wood as soon as it comes to rest or up until
the next wood delivered comes to rest.

A wood just hit the jack after rebounding off
another wood - do | chalk it?

If the bowl was still on its original course and hits the jack even
after rebounding off other bowls before it comes to rest it is a
toucher. Any bowl that is not in it's original course but later
touches the jack is not a toucher

| cant chalk the wood without possibly
disturbing the head, what do | do?

In this instance you would nominate it as a toucher to your
opponent. If possible it is safer to use spray chalk so that you don’t
disturb the bowl

| forgot to chalk or nominate a wood and it has
now been knocked into the ditch, does it still
count?

No. If, before the next delivered bowl comes to rest a bowl is
neither marked nor nominated, it is no longer a toucher. In this
case the wood will be removed from the ditch

The jack and/or chalked wood has gone in the
ditch - how do | place the markers?

The jack is marked with the white marker and the live woods
marked with the coloured markers

Skip asked how short/long is last wood, what
do | say?

Tell the skip how far in front/behind the jack line the bowl is, not
how far the bowl is from the jack. They can already see how far to
the left or right it is and just need to know how long/short they
are. Give them an accurate estimate in feet or yards or by using
hand signals.

We are holding shot and skip decides not to
bowl their last wood - what do | do?

25. It is not compulsory for the last player to play in any end to
deliver the final bowl of the end, but the player must tell the
opposing skip or opponent in Singles of the decision not to deliver
the final bowl! before the process of deciding the number of shots
scored starts (as described in law 23.1). This decision is final .

So, once the skip declares they are not going to bowl you start the
process of determining the number of shots as normal, measuring
any bowls that the opponents dispute.

| started measuring before | realised the skips
still had bowls to deliver, what happens now?

23.3 No measuring will be allowed before the process of deciding
the number of shots scored starts (as described in law 23.1). If a
player measures before the process of deciding the number of
shots scored starts, the defaulting team or opponent in Singles will
lose the right to play any bowls remaining to be played in that end
and the non-defaulting team or opponent in Singles will deliver
their remaining bowls to complete the end




Is it okay for the lead to do the measuring?

Rule 40 Players’ duties - The rules dont say whether skip can (or
can't) assign no.2 or 3's duties to the lead but it is usually accepted
that the skip can assign any tasks. Best practise is for the skip to
inform the opponent skip at the start of the game.

The bowl looks like it might topple over, when
can | putin a wedge?

23.1 The process of deciding the number of shots scored must not
start until the last bowl required to be played in an end has come to
rest, or 30 seconds after that if either skip or opponent in Singles
asks for this 30-second period (for example, to see whether or not a
bowl lying at an angle will fall of its own accord within that time).
23.2 If either skip or opponent in Singles has asked for a 30-second
period, no bow! which is likely to fall must be secured during that
period

What happens if | didn’t wedge a possible
scoring wood and it falls down after 30 second
rule?

23.6.3 if a bowl falls of its own accord, it must be left in its new
position while deciding the number of shots scored continues, and
all the shots agreed before the bowl fell will count;

In other words all the bowls that have been take out and counted
already will stand but this bow! that has fallen in may be counted
as next nearest wood.

Who puts the wedge in to secure a bowl?

There is no rule to say who should place the wedge but usually if
you are holding shot the opponent does this. You need to be aware
of what the result could be if a wedge is not placed in time. For
example if the opponents bowl looks like it might fall in for shot
you might want to wedged it quickly yourself.

The other team is claiming three shots but |
only see two..

As you are the opponent you must now take out the shots you do
agree and place on a cloth (or at somebody's feet). Then you
measure any that you dispute. Place any more to be counted on
the cloth and when you are finished declare how many shots you
are conceding and wait their agreement before picking up the jack
and telling your skip the outcome. Always measure if unsure - do
not be bullied into conceding shots.

My team has shot, now what do | do?

Take your time to decide how many shots you have and include
any bowls that may be borderline. DO NO take out any woods -
your opponent will do so if they agree and measure if they dont.
As the bowls are taken out keep looking in case there are more to
be claimed. Once agreed the opponent will pick up the jack.

| think my opponent is not measuring
accurately what do | do?

Always watch your opponent when they are measuring - your
opponent may not be competent at measuring or could even try to
cheat! If you disagree you are entitled to measure it again yourself

We have both measured but cannot agree
which bowl is nearer - what do we do?

Firstly advise the skips who will likely wish to measure themselves.
If they too cannot agree then an umpire is called

Wha happens if and end is tied?

The end is counted as a played end but no score is recorded and
the winners of the previous end will place the mat

Wha happens if and end is declared dead?

A dead end is not counted and must be replayed in the same
direction unless both skips agree to play from the opposite
direction

Who does the scoreboard.

The skip and the No. 2 are responsible for changing the scoreboard

Clearing the woods after end is scored

If the bowls are scattered, help the leads by kicking them into a
line so they can be scooped up quickly with the trolley




