

Local Government for Langton Green, Speldhurst, Ashurst and Old Groombridge

## NOTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY HELD ON MONDAY 28<sup>th</sup> APRIL AT 7.30PM IN LANGTON GREEN VILLAGE HALL

There were 11 Councillors and two Clerks in attendance along with TWBC Cllr Stanyer.

KCC Cllr John Davies, TWBC Cllr David Jukes and Cllrs Mrs Soyke sent their apologies.

There were 28 groups and organisations represented and about 100 people in attendance.

Parish Council Chairman Cllr Mrs Jeffreys opened the meeting and welcomed everyone attending. She referred everyone to the brochures of village activities that have been produced and were available this evening and thanked everyone in the Parish who had participated. Copies of the brochure are available from the Parish Council Office. If you would like a copy please contact the Clerk on 01892 862927 or <u>clerk@speldhurstparishcouncil.gov.uk</u>

Cllr Mrs Jeffreys expressed sadness on behalf of the Parish Council at the recent deaths of Peter Craine and Alan Passmore.

Cllr Mrs Jeffreys presented the Kent Association of Local Councils award to Ron Ellis for exceptional and loyal service to the parish. Ron was a Parish Councillor between 2003 and 2011 and a Trustee of Langton Green Village Hall between 1961 and 2013. She said that he has done every job imaginable that ever needed doing including building the new village hall in 2007 and the extension and parish office in 2011. Ron expressed his thanks for the award and said that he thoroughly enjoyed his long involvement with Langton Green Village Hall and Speldhurst Parish Council.

Cllr Mrs Jeffreys introduced the speakers in turn:

Stephen James – Groombridge Sports Ground Association – The Association is starting building work on the new pavilion in May 2014 and is very grateful to both Speldhurst and Withyham Parish Councils for their financial support which also enabled them to obtain lottery funding for the project.

Peter Mersh – Southborough and District Lions Club – It also covers Langton Green, Speldhurst and Tunbridge Wells and currently has 23 members including 4 ladies, and would welcome new members.

Stephanie Hayward – Speldhurst CEP School – The school is a small Church and Community centred school and was delighted with its recent OFSTED inspection resulting in 'Outstanding in all areas'.

Peter Brown – Langton Green Rural Society – The AGM is being held on 6<sup>th</sup> May and all are welcome to attend. There is a proposal is to change the name to Langton Green Village Society and for subscriptions to increased to £5 per household and to be collected by standing order.

Ed Langridge – 3H Charity – The charity is based at the Speldhurst Business Park and helps disabled children, parents and carers to have a holiday. The charity's fundraising target is £250,000 each year and they are always looking for help with fundraising and volunteers.

James Bowdidge – Leader of the Parish Plan Working Group – The working group is supported by Speldhurst Parish Council with membership comprising four Parish Councillors and twelve residents. It aims to develop a plan for the parish following on from Parish Vision in 2010. They would like to hear from any residents with their views and from anyone who would like to join the working group.

Cllr Mrs Jeffreys invited any member of the public with a question to address the meeting:

Jonathan Lineker of Lower Green Road expressed concern about the implications on the parish and the roads of the planning applications at The Salomons Centre, David Salomons Estate, Broomhill Road. Cllr Mrs Jeffreys advised that the Planning Committee will look into the details.

Malcolm Greenslade said that he could not see the Terms of Reference for the Air Traffic Committee on the website and asked if Speldhurst Parish Council has the power to oppose or support the second runway at Gatwick. Cllr Mrs Jeffreys said that anyone can respond to the consultations and that the Air Traffic Committee will respond to him.

Cllr Mrs Jeffreys thanked all the speakers, all the residents who attended and Cllrs Langridge, Cllr Mrs Podbury and the Assistant Clerk for their hard work in organising this Annual Parish Assembly.

The formal business of the meeting closed at 8.15pm.

Cllr Mrs Jeffreys invited everyone present to stay and have a further look round the stalls.

Chairman