

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON FRIDAY 11<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2018 AT 7.00PM IN THE GUILDHALL BEWDLEY

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor Mr J Beeson
Councillor Mr J Byng
Councillor Mrs L Candlin
Councillor Mrs A Coleman
Councillor Mr R Coleman
Councillor Mrs C Edginton-White
Councillor Mr P Edmundson
Councillor Miss M Fishwick
Councillor Mr P Harrison
Councillor Mr D Killingworth

In Attendance: Invited guests of the Mayor and Town Council, members of the public and Council staff.

## 8601 CIVIC AND THANK YOU AWARDS

"Thank You" Awards were given by the outgoing Mayor to Ian Williams, Sue Edwards and Tracy Grosvenor. The outgoing Mayor also awarded the Council's Civic Award to Carol Allen who is the Unit Leader of 1st Wribbenhall Brownies.

#### 8602 MAYOR OF BEWDLEY 2018/19

On a motion proposed by Councillor John Beeson and seconded by Councillor Philip Edmundson, Councillor Roger Coleman was duly elected as Mayor for 2018/19.

Following a break in the proceedings for the robes and chain of office to be handed over, the Mayor duly read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was counter-signed by the Town Clerk.

# 8603 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Councillor Mrs E Davies

## 8604 ADDRESS BY THE MAYOR

The newly elected Mayor, Councillor Roger Coleman, addressed the meeting and paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Mrs Anna Coleman.

## 8605 ADDRESS BY PAST MAYOR

The Past Mayor, Councillor Mrs Anna Coleman spoke of her Mayoral year and wished the new Mayor well in the role.

The Mayor then presented the Past Mayor with her Past Mayor's Badge together with a gift as a token reward for her hard work and commitment during the past year. The Past Mayor also presented her Past Deputy Mayor, Councillor Linda Candlin with a gift and thanked her for her support during the year.

#### 8606 DEPUTY MAYOR OF BEWDLEY 2018/19

On a motion proposed by Councillor Roger Coleman and seconded by Councillor John Beeson, Councillor Philip Edmundson was elected as Deputy Mayor for 2018/19.

Councillor Edmundson then duly read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was counter-signed by the Town Clerk.

#### 8607 YOUNG MAYOR AND DEPUTY YOUNG MAYOR

Following elections held by the Bewdley School's Youth Forum, Miss Star Powell was confirmed as the Young Mayor and read out and signed the Declaration of Office. Miss Erin Boddice was confirmed as the Deputy Young Mayor.

#### 8608 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS

On a motion proposed by Councillor Roger Coleman and seconded by Councillor Philip Edmundson, the membership of Committees was **agreed** as follows:

### **Planning Committee:**

Councillors Beeson, Byng, Mrs Candlin, R Coleman, Mrs Edginton-White, Miss Fishwick and Harrison.

#### **Policy and Resources Committee:**

Councillors Beeson, Byng, Mrs Candlin, Clee, R Coleman, Mrs Edginton-White, Edmundson and Harrison.

## **Community Development Committee:**

Councillors Mrs Candlin, Mrs A Coleman, R Coleman, Mrs Edginton-White, Edmundson, Miss Fishwick,

## 8609 APPOINTMENTS TO BEWDLEY ORGANISATIONS

On a motion proposed by Councillor John Beeson and seconded by Councillor Mrs Calne Edginton-White the following Councillors were **appointed** to represent the Town Council on the following Bewdley Organisations:

Together Group: Cllrs Byng and Mrs Davies

Civic Society: Mayor

Community Transport Helpline: Cllr Mrs Davies

Development Trust: Cllr Mrs Edginton-White

Medical Practice Patients'

Participation Group: Cllr Mrs Davies

Millennium Green Planning Group: Cllrs Byng, Mrs Candlin, Mrs Davies,

Harrison and Yarranton

Museum Management Committee: TBC
Old Grammar School Trust: Mayor

Burltons, Cookes and Sayers

Almshouses: Mayor

# 8610 APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCILLORS TO OUTSIDE BEWDLEY ORGANISATIONS

On a motion proposed by Councillor John Byng and seconded by Councillor Mrs Linda Candlin the following Councillors were **appointed** to represent the Town Council on the following external organisations:

Worcestershire CALC (County Association of Local Councils)

Mayor

Wyre Forest Citizens Advice

Councillor Beeson

Bureau

Wyre Forest Community

Emergency Planning Forum Councillor Mrs Edginton-White

# 8611 AGREED MEETING SCHEDULE

Town Council	First Monday in the month	7.00pm	Guildhall, Bewdley
Planning Committee	First Wednesday in the month	6.00pm	Guildhall, Bewdley
Policy & Resources Committee	Bi-monthly from June on the third Monday in the month	7.00pm	Guildhall, Bewdley
Community Development Committee	Bi-monthly from May on the third Monday in the month	7.00pm	Guildhall, Bewdley unless otherwise stated

Signed		 	 	 	 
Mayor					
4th June	2018				