Keeping you on the right side of the law - David Phillips | UMPIRES

~2 Running Away With it!

| HAVE received the following queston wia
e-mail from Angela Barker;

Clurificetion please on powers of the wnpire
ar marker when o bowler runs wg the rink
after his owd, 5o that when his bowl comes
to rest he is still several yards up the rink - ar
even o yard or bvo.

35.2 states as soon os each bow! comes fo
rest, possession transfers to opposing player.

If there is ewidence of the apponent now
preporing to bowl on the mat being annoyed
or distrocted, then 35.3 presumably operotes.

However, if there is no sign of annoyance
to the opponent, even when they ore deloyed
bowiling thelr bow! for o few seconds, showd
the umypire ignore it? Whilst the umpire has
pawers and could declare the bowl dead, If
the bowter on the mat is not being annoyed|
shouid the umpire keep guiet?

And whot if the other members of the
opposing tean are being annoyed? As they
are in the same team, but not the player on
the mat, should their anayance be ignored,
or should the offending player be warned on
the basis thot possession posses to the whole
team and not just the member on the mat?

When this occurs it (s not usually “distraction”

ar being interfered with but more usually
“onmaponoe.”

Thank you Angela for you question. Before
| attempt to answer it | think it would be
beneficial to look at the law that covers
this area. | note that you have referred to
Lawr 35,2, 50 | can only assume that you are
playing under the World Bowls Laws of the
Sport Crystal Mark Edition (yellow book).

Law 35 Possession of the rink.

35.1 Possession of the rink will belong
to the player or team whose bowl is being
played.

35.2 As soon as each bowl comes to rest,
possession of the rink will transfer to the
apposing player or team after allowlng
time for marking a toucher as soon as it
comes to rest.

352 W the umpire, either by their own
observation or on appeal by one of the
skips or opponents in singles, decides
that the players in possession of the rink
are being interfered with, annoyed or
distracted in any way by their opponents,

35.3.1 the first time this happens the
umipire should:

35.3.1.1 warn the offending player, while
the skip s present; and
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2 on each occasion after this, the
umpire should have the bowl last played
by the offending player or team declared
dead if that bowl has disturbed the head,
the opponent should choose whether to:

35312 1 replace the head
2 Zleave the head as altersd: or
2 3dedare the end dead

35.3

The power of the umpire is clearly stated
in the e - after having given a waming he
or she can have the bow| last played by the
offending player DECLARED DEAD,

You also ask if the umpire could take
action if the player on the mat is not being
annoyed. In many cases the player on the
maat is being distracted but does not wish to
make a fuss and gets on with in.

The law states that: “If the umpire, either
by their own observation or on appeal...” so
you do not have to wait until a complaint
is made, you can take action against the
player!

I would suggest that if the matter is drawn
to your attention by one of the skips or
opponent in singles that you thank them
for bringing it to your attention and you
then study the player ‘named’ discreetly
and witness the offence baing committed
before you take action. If you do not see
an offence being committed or you do not
agree that the player is committing an
offence go back and tell the person who
raised the matter.

Again, you are cormect in stating that
possession of the nnk passes to the whole
team and not just the player on the mat,
<0 if any member of the team is being
annoyed or distracted you can warn the
player distracting them. However, | would
suggest that the law is designed more for
the player who is waiting on the mat to
bowl. To give you an example: In a fours
pame the two leads A & B are bowding, lead
A follows his second bowl up the green and
is anly half way up the rink when his bowl
comes to rest and lead B is waiting on the
mat to bowl his second bowl. Lead B makes

na complaint and just gets on with bowling
his second bowl. However, lead B's second
man, who is standing behind the mat
ohserving play complains that he has been
annoyed by lead A standing half way up the
rink of play.

In ry apinion it would look a litte
silly if the umpire took action when the
person whe should have been annoyed
or distracted i.e. lead B has not made a
complaint.

Finally, Law 56 The Umpire's Duties'
states the following:

56.2.5 The umpire should make sure that
all aspects of play are In line with the
Laws of the Sport of Bowls.

5o, if the umpire sees a breach of the law,
they are bound by the laws of the sport to
take action.

For those readers who are playing under
the World Indoor Bowls Council Laws of
the Sport of indoor Bowls you can find
this law on page 29 Law 41 'Possession of
the Rink.' Although worded differently it
means the same,
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| FINALLY, A question for you the readers |

| andfor bowls manufacturers. | recently
attended the Welsh indoor Bowls

Association Warner Letsure Hotels Welsh

Champion of Champions at Bodelwyddan

Castie, North Wales and was asked the

following question by Malcolm Slater, one

of the hard working (he paid me to say
| that) staff at the bowls centre.

“Tn crown green bowls the Dios on the bowl
is marked by o siight indentation so that you
con fee! the bios with you thumb. Why don't
they do the same with flat green bowis?™

| was unable to give the answer, In
fact, until | was shown, | did not know
that a crown green bowl did have an
indentation. Help please.
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