Accept and Continue

Cookies on this site

This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

2018 Season Summary

Saltburn Open Pairs Competition

Saltburn Open Pairs competition took place over the weekend of 28th and 29th April, congratulations to John Selley and Bill Hutchinson who narrowly defeated Paul Bostock and Mick Jewell in a thrilling final. Details of the competition with some images can be found on the 2018 Saltburn Open Pairs Tab

NYBL Presidents Hosting Champ of Champs

On Sunday 3rd June the NYBL Champion of Champions, was held at Saltburn bowls club and on the same day as the final of Britains got talent, Darren Ward proved that Brottons also got talent by beating Mark Fleming from Great Ayton in the final. For more details visit the North Yorkshire Bowls League website ( then click on "Competitions"

Saltburn Bowls Club - 2018 dates

The bowling green opened again for members in April 2018, on a rather damp Tuesday 10th April at 12:30 with soup and rolls followed by a wood delivered by Maureen Stainthorpe Smith, chair of the bowls club.

The green closed again for winter on 23rd of September this year.

Competition dates and dates of friendlies have all now been fixed and can be found in the members fixture booklet or in the calendar section of this website.

This years friendlies were as follows.

Alnwick (Home) was played on Sunday 6th May at 2:00pm

Mulgrave (Away) was played on Sunday 1st July at 2:00pm

Castleton (Away) was played on Saturday 21st July at 2:30pm 

Hutton Rudby (Away) was played on Saturday 25th August at 2:00pm

Internal competition dates

Billy Kerr Trophy was played on Saturday 9th June, Steph Hanczik lost to Chris Fawcett in the final on 1st September

Steve Duck Trophy Saturday 7th July, played over two days this was won by Chris Fawcett, Norma Elliott and Anne Middlesmiss on the Sunday afternoon

Mike Hadlett Trophy was played on Sunday 19th August when Bob Binns narrowly defeated Pat Passman in the final, the game was followed by our annual BBQ

Finals results 2018

Chris Hatfield beat Chris Fawcett in the Club championship

Steph Hanczik beat Norma Elliott in the Ladies Championship

Bill Taylor beat Dave Cordell in the Mens Championship 

Ron Elliott beat Derek Whitwell in the Club Handicap

Ron Elliott beat Mick Cummins in the Mens Handicap

Derek Whitwell beat Bill Taylor in the Veterans Cup

Chris Fawcett beat Steph Hanczik in the Billy Kerr Trophy

Bob Binns beat Pat Passman in the Mike Hadlett Trophy

Joan Hanson and Chris Hatfield beat Mary Blair and June Robinson in the Hilda Leng Trophy

Norma Elliott, Chris Fawcett and Anne Middlemiss beat Bob Binns, Hilda Jones and June Robinson in the Steve Duck Trophy

Presentation Evening

This years presentation evening was be held at Saltburn Cricket Club on Saturday 13th October.

North Yorkshire Bowls League (EBA)

Saltburn hosted some additional events this year following our acceptance of the NYBL (EBA) presidency, Ron Elliott holding office, for the year 2018, events included the following -

Sunday 3rd June - Champion of Champions, this was a great success many thanks to all those who contributed, provided food, scored and came along to watch.

Saturday 14th July - Presidents day started at 1:30pm, again many thanks to all who came along to bowl and watch the proceedings, special thanks to those who helped with the catering and organising.

Saturday 4th August - League finals day started at 10:00 am. The original start time was brought forward due to the success of Jim Atkinson of Marske who made it to three finals, he lost narrowly in the singles to John Blackett of Borough Park, he also lost narrowly with his team against Cochranes in the triples but success came in an enthralling game against Cochranes in the fours. Well done to all and again a big thank to you to groundstaff and helpers at Saltburn for making this another special day of our year holding the Presidency

Details of the competition draw and results matrix is available on the NYBL website

Singles winner: John Blackett (Borough Park). Finalist Jim Atkinson (Marske)
Pairs winners: Eric Whitwell & Karl Tyreman (Brotton). Finalists Dave Lyth & Chris Thomas (Borough Park)
Triples winners: Bill Evans, Ian Dickinson & John Dickinson (Cochranes)
Finalists: Jim Atkinson, Pete Thomas & Andy Harper (Marske)
Fours winners: Jim Atkinson, Alan Thompson, Maurice Roe & Andy Harper (Marske)
Finalists: Bill Evans, Pfister Tothe, Ian Dickinson & John Dickinson (Cochranes)