We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

History of the Parish Council

Most Parish Councils grew from an Ecclesiastical Parish when Civil and Ecclesiastical Parish law split in the 19th century. According to the Parish records, Egerton Council was established at a meeting on 4th December 1894.   Unfortunately, the minutes do not record where it was held.  George Pearson was proposed as Chairman, and 16 residents put their names forward as Councillors.  The following were elected:

  • George Coppins
  • Henry Grigsby
  • Francis Mercer
  • George Homewood,
  • William Hooker
  • Herbert Millgate
  • Horatio Missing

The first official Parish Council meeting was on 20th December 1894 in the local school.  Reverend Francis Mercer was elected Chairman. Henry Grigsby Vice Chairman and George Pearson appointed Clerk.
Revered Mercer was Chairman until April 1896, when Horatio Missing took over the position and held it until April 1912.  As now, meetings were held monthly.  The first Annual Parish Meeting happened on 27th March 1895. 

From 1942, meetings took place in the Parish Hall.  Meetings moved to the Committee Room in the new Village Hall in 2000

Up to the present day, many longstanding Egerton family names such as Missing, Weeks, Ledger, Homewood, Oliver, Pearson, Gore, Harmer and Pack continue to appear on the Council.    Tim Oliver has served the Council as Chairman. Phil Oliver (Tim’s father), held the post of Clerk for 29 years and retired in 1965.  

Many long-standing Councillors stepped down in May 2000. This included Tim Oliver and Jeff Hopkins who had served on the Council for over 30 years.  Tim Lee was elected Chairman in May 2007, stepping down in 2011. He was succeeded by Alison Richey. Alison stepped down due to ill health, after three and a half years. Alison was succeeded by Richard King who did not stand for re-election in May 2023. The current chairman is John Lawton.

Clerks to the Council

  • Sue Palmer (over 20 years until May 2006)
  • Tessa Hilder  (May 2006 – November 2007),  
  • Lois Tilden,  (October 2007 – May 2011),  
  • Claire Finley (March 2011 – October 2012)
  • Heather James (September 2012 to December 2020)
  • Sonia Young (January 2021 - in post)

With thanks to Sue Palmer who kindly wrote this brief history of the Council