We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content


Welcome to Dymchurch

Dymchurch was once the headquarters for law and order on the Romney Marsh and its name derives from Deme, mediaeval English for judge or arbiter. It was here where the governors of the Marsh resided (known as The Lord of the Level), and where swift justice was administered to anyone endangering the wellbeing of the Marsh.

The Village was where Russell Thorndike wrote many of the infamous Dr Syn stories; fictitious yarns, inspired by local smuggling and law breaking on the Marsh and celebrated by the village bi annually in August. In sharp contrast to the Dr. Syn fables, Edith Nesbit, the famous children’s writer, also lived in Dymchurch. An enterprising author, she wrote a number of books including her most famous work – The Railway Children. 

The central slipway, accessed via the High Street, leads to the beautiful open sandy beach. Childrens' amusements and rides, accessed via the seawall and High Street, together with eating establishments and essential shops are waiting to help you enjoy your stay in the village.


The Parish Council

Cllr Dougie Young (Chair)

Cllr Chris McCreedy

Cllr Chrissie Cooper

Cllr Mark Wright

Cllr Andy Weatherhead

Cllr Anne Pegler

Cllr Cathy Young

Cllr Liam Finch

Cllr V McCreedy  


Council members can be contact through the Clerk at 

   Jeff Lawrence Parish Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer

Mr A Lawson Projects and Finance Officer

Mr D Henley Groundsman

Mr G Constant Handyman

Member of Parliament, County Member and District Councillors

Tony Vaughan is the local MP for Folkestone and Hythe, which includes Dymchurch.


F&HDC Cllr Tony Cooper and Cllr Tony Hills represents Dymchurch at Folkestone & Hythe District Council, our KCC representative is Jenni Hawkins