Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

Cheltenham Whaddon Bowls Club

Waghorne Friday Triples

The Final of this year's Triples on Friday 21 September was contested between Maggie Newman, Mike Newman and Peter McGiffie, who won Pool A, while Pool B was represented by Carol Savage, Alan Adams and Ray Hawkins. Peter's team managed to see through the gathering gloom at the end to win the glittering prize, so congratulations to them and commiserations to Ray and his team.

The draw for teams has been made and there will be 20 teams in this year’s Waghorne Triples competition, which will take place on Friday evenings starting on 18 May 2018. This is the biggest entry ever for this event, so thank you all very much for supporting it.

There will be two pools, each consisting of 10 teams, who will play each other once (total of 9 matches). The Pools will normally play on alternate Fridays, but due to the larger number of entries this year, we may have to schedule some games on spare weekend dates as well, in order to complete pool games before Finals Day. A full timetable of games and fixture sheets will be made available by 25 May and will be published here. In the meantime, if your team is in Pool A your first game will be on 18 May, while Pool B teams will play their first game on 25 May.

All games will start at 6.00 pm prompt and will consist of 14 ends, straight in, no trial ends. There will be a match fee of £1 per player to be paid before the start of the game.

There are 2 points for a win, 1 for a draw. Ties for league position will be decided by shot difference. If still tied, the result between the 2 teams concerned will decide.


As a result of the disruption to the Waghorne's Triples, we have decided to extend the playing season into September, so that a meaningful number of games decide the leagues. Pool A will now play an additional game on 07 September (round planned for 10 August) while Pool B will play on 14 September (round planned for 07 July). The final between the top teams in Pool A and B will now be played on Friday 21 September.


Waghorne's Triples Teams

Pool A Team Pool A Team Members Pool B Team Pool B Team Members


Pat McGiffie, John Martin, John Robinson


Doreen Morris, Jan Hawkins, Malcolm Cooke


Steve Pattenden, Ken Aldridge, Jane Hawkes


Judd Eastwood, Jacqui Simmons, Roger Avery


Yvonne Anderson-Foss, Simon Pearce, Brenda Miller


Sue Broughton, Colin Bassett, Steve Gilman


Gerry Warburton, Angela Utteridge, Andy Todd


Julia Honer, Ramon Riera, Dave Simmons


Tony Allen, Jack Cratchley, Jill Whistler


David Rose, Sue Faulkner, John Petchey


Veronica Berry, Matt Betty, Don Hughes


Shelley Baylis, Bob Savage, Richard Mason


Jill Martin, Jan Bowd, Keith Hawkes


Teresa Adams, Dave Hooper, Malcolm Hodges


Pat Hodgson, Tudor Morris, Stephen Tompkins


Alan Adams, Carol Savage, Ray Hawkins


Peter Robbins, Gareth Tarplee, Jim Bowd


Ron Bird, Brenda Lowe, Nigel Kavanagh


Maggie Newman, Mike Newman, Peter McGiffie


Debby Hooper, Don Bailey, Eddie Broughton

If one of the players in your team is unavailable, you should use a reserve (listed below) as a replacement, rather than rescheduling the game. If no reserve is available, as a last resort a player from a team in the other pool may be used. You must NOT use a player from a team in your own pool as a substitute. The substitute should play in the position of the player being replaced.

If it is not possible to play a game on the scheduled date for an acceptable reason e.g. no substitute available, multiple members of a triple unavailable, you may play at another time agreed with your opponents. In this event you should inform the organisers (Malcolm Hodges or Andy Todd) in advance and ensure that match fees and completed score cards are given to the organisers as soon as possible after the game.

Reserve Players:

Frank Ladbrook

Wendy Woods

Eldon Thomas

Myra Davis

Jack Ames